For Immediate Release March 6, 2025 Contact: Sarah Trone Garriott, (515) 661-9679 Zach Wahls, (319) 499-7408

State Senators Sarah Trone Garriott and Zach Wahls Announce Bills to Introduce Term Limits, Ban Lawmaker Stock Trading

DES MOINES, IA – Today, State Senator Sarah Trone Garriott (D-West Des Moines) and State Senator Zach Wahls (D-Coralville) unveiled new legislation aimed at shaking up the political establishment by introducing term limits for members of the Iowa Legislature and banning state legislators from trading stocks while in office. Both measures seek to restore public trust and integrity in state government by preventing power from becoming too deeply entrenched.

Under the term limit proposal, legislators in the lowa State Legislature would be limited to serving twelve consecutive years before being required to step down. The stock trading ban would prohibit sitting legislators from buying or selling individual stocks during their term, ensuring that personal financial interests do not override the public good.

"lowans are fed up with politics as usual." said Senator Sarah Trone Garriott. "Our state government is not addressing the issues that lowans need solved right now: the sky-high cost of housing, healthcare, childcare, and everyday items, lowa's unacceptable cancer rates, and the hollowing out of our rural communities. No legislator should be able to ignore the needs of their constituents—and profit from it--just because they have a safe seat."

Senator Zach Wahls emphasized that this is the start of a conversation about much needed changes to lowa's government. "For far too long, power has rested in the hands of a few who are more focused on personal gain than on delivering for everyday lowans," added Senator Zach Wahls. "Banning stock trading in the legislature and setting term limits sends a clear message: we're here to serve the people of lowa, not the special interests who help politicians get rich. It's time for bold action to bring true accountability to our government."

State Senator Sarah Trone Garriott was first elected in 2020 and represents Dallas County. State Senator Zach Wahls was first elected in 2018 and represents Johnson County.

###