

Laura Belin laurarbelin@bleedingheartland.com

RELEASE: Gov. Reynolds Announces Staff Changes

Press Releases from Iowa Governor's Office <lowaGovernorsOffice@public.govdelivery.com> Fri, Aug 2, 2024 at 3:44 PM To: desmoinesdem@bleedingheartland.com

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR Governor Kim Reynolds★ Lt. Governor Adam Gregg

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Friday, August 2, 2024

MEDIA CONTACT: Mason Mauro, (515) 745-2840, mason.mauro@governor.iowa.gov

Gov. Reynolds Announces Staff Changes

DES MOINES— Gov. Kim Reynolds today announced a number of staff changes in the Office of the Governor.

Stan Thompson has joined the office as senior legal counsel. Thompson previously served as deputy attorney general for civil litigation in the Iowa Attorney General's Office, executive director of the Iowa Civil Rights Commission, and spent 35 years in private practice at Davis Brown Law Firm in Des Moines.

Steve Blankinship is assuming a new role in the legal department as general counsel and administrative rules coordinator. He joined the governor's office in May 2023.

Jen Green joins the office as communications director after years of experience in corporate communications, marketing, and media, most recently as morning show co-host on Life 107.1 KNWI radio in Des Moines. Green holds a master's degree in communications from Clemson University. The position was previously held by Heather Nahas, who joined the governor's team in August 2019. She will remain in the office throughout the month in an advisory role while assisting with staff transitions.

Mason Mauro joins the office as deputy communications director and press secretary after working several years as a television news reporter in markets across the country, most recently in Sacramento, California. He is a native Iowan and earned a bachelor's degree in broadcast news with a minor in politics from Drake University. Mauro replaces Kollin Crompton who is leaving the office to join the Republican Governors Association as rapid response director.

Nate Ristow, who joined the office in January 2019 as a policy advisor and most recently served as administrative rules coordinator, has been named the incoming president and chief executive officer of the lowa Taxpayers Association.

Laura Book, workforce and public safety policy advisor to Governor Reynolds since July 2022, will expand her role to include additional responsibilities as deputy legislative liaison.

Nick Tansey has also joined the staff as special assistant to the Lieutenant Governor. He replaces Morgan Fritz who is entering law school.

"I am blessed to have had a strong team throughout my time as governor and am grateful for their

dedication to serving lowans alongside me, particularly during some of the most challenging situations our state has faced in recent years," said Governor Reynolds. "I'm excited to welcome talented new members to my team as our work continues for the great state of lowa, and I offer my heartfelt thanks to Heather, Kollin, Nate, and Morgan for their outstanding service."

Following is a complete list of Office of the Governor staff:

Taryn Frideres – Chief of Staff

Jacob Nicholson - Chief Operating Officer

Molly Severn - Deputy Chief of Staff and Legislative Liaison

Stan Thompsen – Senior Legal Counsel

Steven Blankinship - General Counsel and Administrative Rules Coordinator

Emily Russel - Deputy Legal Counsel

Megan Hall - Paralegal and Records Custodian

Jen Green - Communications Director

Mason Mauro – Deputy Communications Director and Press Secretary

Damian Bell - Chief Speechwriter and Communications Advisor

Patrick Tomka - Senior Tax and Economic Policy Advisor

Jane Dufoe – Education Policy Advisor

Dax Oberreuter - Health Care and Veteran's Affairs Policy Advisor

Laura Book - Workforce and Public Safety Policy Advisor and Deputy Legislative Liaison

Lillie Brady – Agriculture and Energy Policy Advisor

Eric Baker – Director of Strategic Operations and Director of the Office for State-Federal Relations

Townsand Ayers – Boards and Commissions Director

Annie Hayes – Executive Assistant to the Governor

Nick Tansey - Special Assistant to the Lieutenant Governor

Anna Hartzog - Constituent Services Director

Kate Schreier - Constituent Services Liaison

###

Stay Connected with the Office of the Governor of Iowa:











Manage Subscriptions | Help

This email was sent to desmoinesdem@bleedingheartland.com using GovDelivery Communications Cloud on behalf of: State of Iowa · 1007 E Grand Ave · Des Moines, IA 50319

